The Wait…

May 20, 2009

This week, I waited and waited for a phone call. My stomach was constantly in knots. I couldn’t sleep, I couldn’t eat, and I couldn’t stop crying. I wanted to know my dogs’ future, one way or another.

I tried to convince myself that it was the “gum disease” (Gingival Hyperplasia) that Martin had mentioned, but I think that deep down, I know what the result would be.

We received a call from the vet on the night of Wednesday 20th May 2009. Unfortunately, we were shopping and missed the call. The messages he left on our answer machine left me feeling sick to my stomach. His voice sounded like that of someone who was bringing bad news. The vets were now shut and we had to wait until morning.

The following morning, ironically enough, I’d booked in to have a tattoo. A “Barney” tattoo and I decided to go ahead and have it done because I’d wanted it done for so long and it would be an everlasting ode to Barney. I told my partner that if he heard anything, to not let me know until I was home. I didn’t want to hear any bad news over the phone.

Leave a Reply

