Can’t Believe It! Pop Went His Sutures!

June 6, 2009

I’d noticed a small amount of something that looked like blood on some bedding and mentioned it to Matt. I was also a little concerned at a tiny white area in Barney’s mouth, but Matt told me it was fine and just part of his mouth, so I tried not to think about it. We decided the next morning (Thursday 4th June 2009) that we’d get an appointment with our local vet (Martin) anyway, just to get it checked out and make sure that everything was healing as it should be because I’d noticed a little more blood.

We got up, got ready, and as Matt was dressing Luke, a call came through from Rob at Dick White’s. With anticipation, I waited to hear what he had to say. I knew he was calling with the results from the jaw tissues that were removed, along with the lymph node.

At 9.40am, we were on top of the world. Things seriously couldn’t have been better. I was crying with joy and relief when Rob told me that the margin of jaw they had taken had been free both ends, which meant they got every last piece of the tumour in his mouth. He also told me that the lymph node was clear too. The cancer had NOT spread there which means that it was contained. We were so pleased; I just can’t describe the feeling.

We didn’t get long to talk about it as our appointment time was looming and we needed to get sorted. We took Luke’s pushchair out of the car, just leaving his little buggy in as we always do when we have Barney in the car, and since we’d be straight back, we left his bag of nappies etc behind too. We wouldn’t need anything…. or so we thought….

Just as we were about to walk out of the door, Matt put Barney’s harness on and straight away, he pulled at it with his mouth. Matt and I both told him “no” and he eventually dropped it, only to grab it again. When I looked at him, something just didn’t look right. I started panicking and noticed that his mouth now looked very white inside. I asked Matt over and over what it was and came to my own conclusion that it was his jaw. He’d popped all his stitches!! I think he knew it was his jaw that was visible, but didn’t quite want to believe it and was in a state of panic like me. Next problem was… how the hell do we get this crazy dog from the house and into the car without him doing himself any more damage. For the 20-second walk to the car, we had to be very harsh with him for his own sake. Once in the car he just sat there looking rather sorry for himself.

We drove, rather quickly, to our vet. We didn’t even get Barney out of the car. I ran in, said we had a 10am appointment and asked if Martin was free straight away. (We are very well known at our local vets surgery). The receptionist, Leanne, shouted for him and he came out and I asked him to come and see Barney in the car. I explained what had happened and why we were coming to see him originally. When he got to the car, I lifted the boot door and Martin just laughed. He looked at Barney and said “Oh Barnes, what have you done”. It was a typically funny moment, simply because Barney is such a character, it’s as if people expect this kind of thing to happen with him. He’s just so boisterous, so clumsy. He assured us it wasn’t quite as bad as it seemed, and confirmed that, yes; it IS his bone we were looking at. That made me feel ill, I couldn’t look at it. You never expect to see something so graphic on your own dog.

Matt had already called ahead to Dick White’s and they’d told us to drive down. They said it’s be a resuture but he’d have it done under sedation so we just expected to spend the day in Newmarket until we could collect him. We’d been given an appointment for Midday but we were there by 11.15am. I went in and told them we were there and they said they’d be as quick as possible. We decided Barney was better off in the back of the car, rather than sitting in reception getting all excited. No more than a few minutes later, one of the staff came out and called us in. He took one look at Barney and confirmed that his mouth would need resuturing and that it’d need to be done under General Anaesthetic. I knew this meant another overnight stay. I was gutted and worried. This would be his third General Anaesthetic in three weeks.

The vet this time was Lorenzo (Unfortunately, Rob was tied up and Barney was there as an emergency). Lorenzo didn’t really know Barney’s history but he knew what he’d had done. He took us into the same room as we’d been in last time we dropped off and picked him up.

He went through a few things with us, had us sign the consent form and explained that he would need to stay for 24 to 48 hours but it would more likely be 48 hours which meant we’d not see him for 2 nights. I was devastated but I knew this had to be done.

We had a cuddle and Barney trotted off without a care in the world. Staying over at the vets is a real adventure, right? Nothing fazes him, which is good I guess. I’d rather he was happy there than have him sitting whining the whole time and being entirely depressed.

As we watched him go through the door, we spotted Rob, who in turn, spotted us and came out to talk. He, like Martin, was half laughing at what had happened and said that perhaps they’d undermined just how boisterous Barney is and that this time they would reinforce the sutures (put more in). He assured us he would be fine and just said that the histology was brilliant and that he was really happy.

So again, we drove off, leaving Barney behind to face another general anaesthetic and another stay with the vets. Not fun and I wasn’t happy, but I did see the funny side to it and at least this time we knew it was minor surgery compared to a week ago.

We had to go home this time and await our updates.

By 3pm we had a call. It was Lorenzo confirming that the surgery was done; Barney was fine and was recovering (again). Phew. I cried with relief. I just hated the idea of that third general anaesthetic. We had regular updates from them and on Saturday 6th June 2009, 48 hours after we’d left him, we drove to Newmarket again and picked him up. He looked better this time. Different. A bit more “normal”. He’d had more sutures, but his jowls seemed to be pulled up more, making the surgery seem less apparent. It’s difficult to describe. I will add pictures as soon as possible to show what I mean.

It was great bringing him home again. We vowed this time that we really would treat him with kid gloves and went back to adding water to his food again as we’d only done it for 3 or 4 days last week as he seemed to be doing so well.

Once again, our family unit felt complete and our house felt like a home again 🙂

Leave a Reply

