Happy Birthday

October 21, 2011

I just want to say something very simple today.

‘Happy Birthday’ Barney.

Nobody will ever truly understand how much I still miss you. People probably think ‘it’s just a dog’ but you were so much more than that. You fought such a tough battle with cancer. You lost half your jaw and never once let it get you down. Had you been human, people would say how brave you were. Cancer is cancer, no matter who or what you are. You were simply amazing.

Balloons will be flying up toward your rainbow this afternoon. Make sure you look out for them. XxXxXxX

 

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday”

  1. carolyn said

    Happy Birthday to your sweet boy Barney. And thank you for sharing your story. I brought my 9 year old golden retriever to the vet yesterday because he had a small black bump on his outer lip . I thought it was some sort of acne and I waited two weeks before I brought him in thinking it would go away. How wrong I was when the vet said it was a melanoma. He has surgery next week and I pray that it is benign. My heart breaks for the loss of Barney.

  2. Leslie said

    In attemping to research oral cancer in dogs, I was led to your postings. I am so sorry for the loss of your dear Barney. He was fortunate to have a wonderful human as you to be with on this earth. Heaven must be a glorious place with our beloved pets all happy and healthy waiting for our arrival. My little MINDY was just diagnosed this week and I know I have a long difficult road ahead. Please keep us in your prayers.

Leave a Reply

